Predictions, Results, And Analysis Of The 2023 MLB MVP And Cy Young Awards

Welcome to MLB Awards Week!

As we eagerly anticipate the major offseason moves, including the destination of stars like Shohei Ohtani, it’s time to honor the standout players of the 2023 regular season.

The week kicked off with Baltimore’s Gunnar Henderson clinching the American League Rookie of the Year title, while Corbin Carroll secured the same accolade unanimously in the National League. Following that, AL Manager of the Year went to Baltimore’s Brandon Hyde, and Skip Schumaker claimed the NL counterpart.

Here’s the rundown of the awards schedule (all announcements at 6 p.m. ET):

Monday: Jackie Robinson Rookies of the Year – Corbin Carroll, Gunnar Henderson

Tuesday: Managers of the Year – Brandon Hyde, Skip Schumaker

Wednesday: Cy Young Awards

Thursday: MVP Awards

American League Manager of the Year
Winner: Brandon Hyde, Baltimore Orioles

Hyde led the Orioles to a stunning 100-plus win season, a remarkable turnaround just two years after a 110-loss campaign. Despite the difficulty in quantifying managerial success with metrics, Hyde’s impact was evident in various areas. The Orioles exceeded their expected win total by 7.2, beating preseason predictions by 23.5 wins, the most surprising team in baseball. Notably, they boasted a 30-16 record in one-run games. Hyde’s approach, coupled with the transition of promising young players, made the Orioles not just contenders but a fun and competitive force. Hyde is the fourth Oriole to claim the AL Manager of the Year title.

National League Manager of the Year
Winner: Skip Schumaker, Miami Marlins

In his first year as skipper, Schumaker guided the Marlins to a 15-win improvement, securing a winning record and a surprise wild-card spot. The Marlins outperformed expectations by an MLB-high 9.1 wins, propelled by a remarkable 33-14 record in one-run games. Leading a team with limited offensive firepower, Schumaker showcased his managerial prowess through a plethora of tight, low-scoring games. At 43, Schumaker’s future looks promising, adding stability to the Marlins franchise. He becomes the fourth Marlins pilot to win Manager of the Year Honors.

American League Rookie of the Year
Winner: Gunnar Henderson

Henderson’s unanimous victory highlights an exceptional rookie season, overcoming early struggles to become a catalyst in the Orioles’ lineup. Finishing with 28 homers, Henderson, playing both shortstop and the hot corner, showcased defensive prowess at both positions. While there’s room for improvement, especially against lefties, his impact on the Orioles’ lineup and strong defensive metrics make him a deserving winner. Henderson is the first Oriole since Cal Ripken Jr. in 1982 to claim AL Rookie of the Year honors.

National League Rookie of the Year
Winner: Corbin Carroll

In a strong rookie class, Carroll stood out, displaying consistent and spectacular performances throughout the season. At 22, he showcased a complete offensive package with speed, power, contact, and discipline. Carroll’s historic rookie campaign included becoming the first rookie to achieve 25 homers and 50 steals in a season. While his postseason performance tapered off, Carroll’s potential for improvement signals a formidable future for the Diamondbacks. He is the first Diamondbacks player to be named Rookie of the Year.

Stay tuned for the upcoming Cy Young Awards and MVP Awards as MLB Awards Week continues!